My Godmother

407077_10151690341588777_1100487456_n (1)

My  biggest hero has always been my Godmother.  She delivered me five decades ago, when my Mother was  considered to be an “old and high risk first time Mom”. My Mother’s age and previous miscarriages made her a high risk patient thus eligible to be consulted on by my Godmother.  My Godmother… She was the Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the time … but also a 35 year old dynamo woman with a great knowledge and reputation.  She was brilliant, dedicated, and when she let her hair down a beautiful woman who had a tinkerbell laugh and smoked coloured cigarettes when she was out with a group..  In that day and age smoking was acceptable.

As I grew up she continued to play a passive role in my life, too busy to be involved on a day to day basis but appearing from time to time to visit and follow my progress.  Subliminally I wanted to be like her.  Have a profession, and make a difference.  She was so different from the other women that I knew.

What I learned from her was to be a role model at all times.  To understand the small differences that make the big differences.

I honestly believe that she played the largest role in me wanting to be a Doctor. I did not grow up knowing any other Doctors personally ~  just my Godmother who was different from all the Mothers that I knew.  She is still alive and was recently honoured by her department for “Outstanding Achievement re Women’s Health Issues”. Still a goal to aspire to.

 

 

Leave a Reply

